Baby steps to HUGE things!

push-quoteHOLY COW!!! I just did that!! I just paid my last rent payment of the first full year at the gym. You may not understand how huge this is.

I have NEVER had a rent/lease/loan that was solely in my name. I moved from my dads house to my husbands, always knowing that I had help to get the job done. When I decided to open my own space to train and instruct clients, I was scared to take on a month to month $250 rent payment. Now, I have just completed a year lease with a rent more than double my started gym.

It so humbling to look back and see where I started and where we are now. Granted, it is not the Taj Mahal, but it is a business that continues to grow. Even in the typically slower fitness season, we are still seeing new faces and retaining original clients.

Why am I telling you this? Because if you would have told me 2.5 years ago when I moved to NKY with no family and no friends that this would be happening I would have laughed at you! Just like if I tell you that you need to lose 100 pounds you may tell me there is no way. It is all about baby steps. If I told you that you needed to lose 20 pounds in 6 weeks and I was going to show you how would you feel better about your goal? Maybe you would not even realize what your end goal is because you cant wrap your brain around it. That was me.

If you would have told me that joining an online fitness business would have spiraled into this I would still not be able to visualize myself being that girl. Full disclosure, I was most scared about moving into our new place because it was on the main drag. What if I fail? Everyone will notice. It would have been easier to keep doing the online gig, bringing in decent residual income and changing some lives. For sure!! But what about all of those other people that I would have never met? What about the lives that have connected because I provide people a safe place to make new friends and build each other up? It is not about me at all. “As for you, always be sober-minded, endure suffering, do the work of an evangelist, fulfill your ministry.” 2 Timothy 4:5

It is still funny to me to hear people talk about the gym or myself sometimes. I sometimes forget that life has taken me down this path. I am definitely not perfect, and I have definitely made bad parenting or fitness choices along the way. I love the look on peoples faces when I tell them i lived off of Taco Bell Mexican pizzas when I was pregnant with the twins. Or that we were so broke and clueless that the twins ate frozen kids TV dinners for the whole second year of life. It definitely took baby steps to get to where we are today!

I sincerely hope that if fear or doubt are holding you back from your aspirations, that you remember 2 things; 1)If God put it on your heart he will provide the means while you do the work. 2) baby steps, Rome was not built in a day. Even if you have to move slowly toward your goal, or you are not sure how far it can even take you, keep moving!

xoxo

Jessica

Leave a Reply

